Gluten is the only protein known to be toxic to those with gluten intolerance. Proteins found in other foods such as rice, corn, potatoes, meats, eggs, dairy, and gluten-free grains, for example, have no similarity to the gluten protein and are therefore safe. However, one protein that might be questionable for some is prolamin avenin, which is found in oats. While the oat protein is gluten-free and scientifically different from gluten, it is considered to have some similarities and has been found to be problematic to some individuals with gluten intolerance and celiac disease.
About Karen Hill
Karen Hill is a freelance writer, editor, and columnist. Born in New York, her work has appeared in the Examiner, Yahoo News, Buzzfeed, among others.