How Many U.S. Presidents Were Born In Ohio and Why Is Ohio Called the Buckeye State?

Seven U.S. presidents were born in Ohio, more than any other state except Virginia.

They were Ulysses S. Grant, Rutherford B. Hayes, James A. Garfield, Benjamin Harrison, William McKinley, William Howard Taft, and Warren G. Harding.

Although he was born in Indiana, William Henry Harrison was living in Ohio when he became president.

Ohio’s nickname, “The Buckeye State,” comes from the buckeye tree, which was once quite common there.

Ohio has the only nonrectangular state flag. Its flag is shaped like a pennant.