Which States Make Up the Region Called New England and How Did New England Get Its Name?

New England consists of six states: Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont.

Captain John Smith named the region New England while exploring the northeastern coast in 1614.

In 1686 the English government formed a province they also called New England that consisted of the colonies of New Hampshire, Massachusetts (which then included Maine), Rhode Island, and Connecticut.

New York and New Jersey were added 2 years later. But in 1689, the people of New England overthrew the English lord who ruled the province, and the colonies became separate again.

The New England states including capital cities.

All have coastlines on the Atlantic Ocean except landlocked Vermont.