Who were the Five Civilized Native American Tribes?

The Cherokee, Chickasaw, Creek, Choctaw, and Seminole were called the Five Civilized Tribes by non-Indians.

During the eighteenth century, these large tribes quickly developed friendly relationships with European trading partners. In time, many traders married into their tribes and introduced the Indians to white ways and values.

Because the tribes adopted some of these customs, whites thought they were more civilized than other Indian peoples.