How Many Countries Are There In South America and Which Regions Belong To France and the United Kingdom?

There are twelve countries in South America.

From largest to smallest in population, the countries are Brazil, Colombia, Argentina, Peru, Venezuela, Chile, Ecuador, Bolivia, Paraguay, Uruguay, Guyana, and Suriname.

French Guiana belongs to France, and the Falkland Islands, the island of South Georgia, and the South Sandwich Islands are territories of the United Kingdom.

South America is the southern portion of the landmass sometimes referred to as the New World.

South America is also one of the most biodiverse continents on earth, and is home to many unique species of animals including the llama, piranha, vicuña, and tapir.