How many U.S. States have Spanish names and Where did the American dollar come from?

Nine U.S. states have Spanish names: Arizona, California, Colorado, Florida, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Oregon, and Texas.

Spanish place names can be found in North American localities from El Paso, Texas, to Campobello Island, New Brunswick, Canada.

But perhaps the most intimate sign of the Spanish presence in early American history can be found in your wallet. The American dollar derives from the “Spanish dollar” or peso, a reliable unit of currency in colonial times.

how many u s states have spanish names and where did the american dollar come from

Even the dollar sign is believed to be of Spanish origin.

About Karen Hill

Karen Hill is a freelance writer, editor, and columnist for Born in New York, she loves interesting random facts from all over the world.